Matthew Wolff hits putt accidentally with practice stroke

  再生回数 117,822

European Tour

ヶ月 前

Matthew Wolff hit his ball during a practice swing at the WGC - Workday Championship at The Concession 2021. Under the new rule he was allowed to replace the ball under no penalty.
► SUBSCRIBE: et.golf/Subscribe

The European Tour heads to The Concession Golf Club for the WGC-Workday Championship at the Concession. A world class field comprising 48 of the top 50 in the Official World Golf Rankings will assemble for the first World Golf Championship event of the year. World Number One Dustin Johnson headlines the field and will be targeting his fourth title in this event alone. He is joined by World Number Two Jon Rahm who tied the WGC low 18-hole scoring record in this tournament last year with a third-round 61. Defending champion Patrick Reed, who is a two-time winner of this event, also returns. Elsewhere, the Ryder Cup points battle continues, with seven of the nine players currently occupying automatic qualifying spots in the field this week: Tyrrell Hatton, Tommy Fleetwood, Jon Rahm, Rory McIlroy (European Points), Victor Perez, Matt Fitzpatrick and Viktor Hovland (World Points List).

Welcome to the Official JPgoon channel of the European Tour. Every week you can find extended tournament highlights and individual player highlights from the likes of Rory McIlroy, Justin Rose and Tommy Fleetwood in events on the Race to Dubai. This is also the home of the 14 Club Challenge, Little Interviews, Fastest Hole and many more challenges, pranks and world record attempts featuring the biggest golfers in the world.

► WEBSITE: www.europeantour.com
► FACEBOOK: TheEuropeanTour
► TWITTER EuropeanTour
► INSTAGRAM europeantour

コメント数
Butch Ryan
Butch Ryan ヶ月 前
Lmao I was taking some practice chipping strokes on a hole and hit the ball on my way back into the water behind me 😂
Rusty Cockering
Rusty Cockering ヶ月 前
Just once, I'd like to see a Tour pro know even the most basic rule of golf.
J
J ヶ月 前
I haven't done it since you don't get penalised for it lol.
Kebuin Kebuin
Kebuin Kebuin ヶ月 前
i did that before the rule change in my club tournament i was 3 under in 5 holes did that and then shot 7 over par
my lures stuck in a tree
my lures stuck in a tree ヶ月 前
Well we’ve all been there lol
WS C
WS C ヶ月 前
Should still be a penalty. He gained information he otherwise wouldn't have. Speed of the green and slope.
GipsyKings Puro
GipsyKings Puro ヶ月 前
Yet another feeble hrsht rule change for babies.
Diego Ahumada 09
Diego Ahumada 09 ヶ月 前
at least he is alive
ivan corry
ivan corry ヶ月 前
This is my trademark. Lmao f
Ty C
Ty C ヶ月 前
He hit his ball with a practice shot only 3 events ago too. lol
HickoryWind
HickoryWind ヶ月 前
Never get why golfers do practice swings. Such a waste of time.
Moe Syzlak
Moe Syzlak ヶ月 前
...and thats why you'll never be as good as them.
Mil Sneler
Mil Sneler ヶ月 前
So this is not a penalty anymore?
Tommy Lee-Fox
Tommy Lee-Fox ヶ月 前
Everyone, especially every-golfer make mistake. Today, Viktor too. Don’t worry. Matt and Viktor, you’re gonna be okay. I’m always your side.
OCD Chaos
OCD Chaos ヶ月 前
I’ve done that in a tourney before. 🙁
John Bruce
John Bruce ヶ月 前
36 second video, 15 second ad. Awesome!
Jack Rainfield
Jack Rainfield ヶ月 前
Anyone remember in the old days when they all would put their putter in front of the ball to line it up? Then they would lift their putter over the ball to set it up.
Stu Marston
Stu Marston ヶ月 前
The plumb bob.
Kevin Nzuki
Kevin Nzuki ヶ月 前
If he could just stay out the water hazards
Adil Khan
Adil Khan ヶ月 前
So if the ball moves by an unintentional touch of the putter, no penalty; but if it moves due to the pressure of your club without any touch, it’s a penalty...that’s not cricket...
Jake Collins
Jake Collins ヶ月 前
I think his short game is trash
3k2p6
3k2p6 ヶ月 前
Quality content...
Michael Wells
Michael Wells ヶ月 前
Wait what? That no longer counts as a stroke? Is this to save time lining to quicken professional play? Also only on the green? Fairway?
NP 123
NP 123 ヶ月 前
Only on the green, been that way since 2019 :)
Mark A
Mark A ヶ月 前
How stupid can you be? I thought Wolff had a brain on him.
anjangaki
anjangaki ヶ月 前
All that fidgeting has taken it's toll
Incognito123
Incognito123 ヶ月 前
Dude played really well. Eleven over par and a WD. I remember some ‘tard on here confidently stating that he would win many majors. Umm, really? Hes the replacement for Furyk - he’s alright but he’s no Rory / Koepka.
Elias E
Elias E ヶ月 前
@Incognito123 lol what? I'm just saying your comment leads to nothing, our opinions on these players good or bad don't matter so chill...
M Alw
M Alw ヶ月 前
@Incognito123 I sure wasn’t one of those guys you mention. Wolffe has the swing of a 15 handicapper
Incognito123
Incognito123 ヶ月 前
@Elias E bring it, chump. Come on, go harder.
Incognito123
Incognito123 ヶ月 前
@DASHYDASH EYESPOKE lol. When did you see Rory or koepka shooting 83 on the PGA Tour? Umm never. Perhaps Rory has shot an 80 in the open on a bad day, but I’m saying this Wolff bloke is overrated. Shonky swing, shonky results. He’s nothing special. Tiger never played like this in his early years so it’s fairly clear Wolff will never be a “great”. Although ask around on this forum and the closet Beliebers will tell you he is. And I guess you’re one. But it’s very likely you still live with your Mother so go figure.
DASHYDASH EYESPOKE
DASHYDASH EYESPOKE ヶ月 前
Jizzzz what an ignorant tonsil you are...??? The guy had a bad day out there,it’s happened to every single pro on tour...so chill buttfuhck
Timothy Wattrus
Timothy Wattrus ヶ月 前
I hope someone can answer me: If someone does the same thing with an driver or an approach shot, do you get to replace it?
Adil Khan
Adil Khan ヶ月 前
So if the ball moves by an unintentional touch of the putter, no penalty; but if it moves due to the pressure of your club without any touch, it’s a penalty...that’s not cricket...
Russell Reilly
Russell Reilly ヶ月 前
Well there ya go. Thought that would be counted as a stroke for sure. But apparently not. No intent. Does that mean I get to take all my putts again? I never intend for them to go where they do.....even when they go in the hole lol
The Bambino
The Bambino ヶ月 前
Just like someone else said - we've ALL DONE THAT, LOL !!!
cill521
cill521 ヶ月 前
Didn't one of the guys get a penalty for having the ball move at address, isn't intention to move the ball then is it. This should remain a penalty, its a dumb mistake.
cill521
cill521 ヶ月 前
@Moe Syzlak Forgive me but it is a little confusing. When grounding the club there is no intent in hitting the ball, however when it moves you get a penalty because the ball is in play. When you ground the club on the tee (with no intent), the ball moves you do not get a penalty because the ball is not in play. When you do a practice stroke you hit the ball with no intent however the ball is in play, no penalty.
Moe Syzlak
Moe Syzlak ヶ月 前
No penalty, clearly not trying to hit ball, clearly no intent, was a practice stroke. The guy who got a penalty was Russell Knox 2 weeks ago. Like you said he was at address, Wolff wasn't.
Steve
Steve ヶ月 前
This world would be a better place if Matthew Wolff would shut the fu** up.
Corek BleedingHollow
Corek BleedingHollow ヶ月 前
I really want to see his shot by shot coverage. What happened on each hole.
Corek BleedingHollow
Corek BleedingHollow ヶ月 前
@Robert Bailey Meh, all they have is two videos of his birdie holes... I really wanted to see actual video of his really bad holes
Robert Bailey
Robert Bailey ヶ月 前
You can see it on the pgatour website. Go to the leaderboard then click on his name. Then click the 3D button and you will see a fly over of each hole and where each shot was, if there was video of a shot you can see it by hitting the play button bottom right. I just went through them all, it was rough.
Corek BleedingHollow
Corek BleedingHollow ヶ月 前
That's good that just happened to me the other day. Sunk the putt. Counted it as a par but then someone told me later and it was still good for a birdie.
Corek BleedingHollow
Corek BleedingHollow ヶ月 前
@Shane Mad1 Oh, yeah
Shane Mad1
Shane Mad1 ヶ月 前
But wouldn't you have had to replace it back to it's original position and then putt again for it to be counted as a birdie ?
g j
g j ヶ月 前
So he gets that putt again? As if it never happened? Is that correct?
William Peters
William Peters ヶ月 前
Correct
huddy bozak
huddy bozak ヶ月 前
This guy golfed like me today
Tutte Turunen
Tutte Turunen ヶ月 前
83 in course like that? i dont think so buddy
Steven Griffin
Steven Griffin ヶ月 前
Pretty stupid , new rule ..... saw Zak Johnson botch a tee shot , all playing partners said “ unintentional “ re teed and hit it !?
Chip in4seven
Chip in4seven ヶ月 前
l can't believe they didn't change the rule when the ball moves unintentionally at address ⛳
g j
g j ヶ月 前
@KiDD ViDD that rule seems a bit silly. But to be fair, golf's hard enough already 🤣
KiDD ViDD
KiDD ViDD ヶ月 前
Yeah and if you take a full swing at a ball and whiff it. Without hitting the ball at all it counts as a stroke. But If your making a "practice" stroke and hit the ball it doesn't count. Gotta love golf.
Travis
Travis ヶ月 前
Why take practice strokes that close?!
Arnór Ingi Bjarkason
Arnór Ingi Bjarkason ヶ月 前
He is "feeling" the line of the putt also, trying to get the perfect speed in his mind, so it makes alot of sense.
Pierre Bnrd
Pierre Bnrd ヶ月 前
He was tilted
Russell Reilly
Russell Reilly ヶ月 前
Because apparently he gets no penalty if he accidentally hits it anyway. So why not lol
Ankle Pick
Ankle Pick ヶ月 前
Almost as if he wanted to hit/grace the ball.
Ankle Pick
Ankle Pick ヶ月 前
@agbugger Ty. Grace = elegant?
agbugger
agbugger ヶ月 前
graze
John Kurtz
John Kurtz ヶ月 前
The good news is that he made 4 birdies today. Only 3 rounds to go.
John Kurtz
John Kurtz ヶ月 前
@Michael Daniluk thanks, I hope it's not injury related
Michael Daniluk
Michael Daniluk ヶ月 前
I think he withdrew from the event
John Kurtz
John Kurtz ヶ月 前
@Andon Herrera normally, he'd be happy to go home after 2 rounds...I hope he turns things around. That golf course looks very tough...
Andon Herrera
Andon Herrera ヶ月 前
@John Kurtz ok thanks. Was just confused cuz I saw how bad he shot today. Thanks for clearing that up.
John Kurtz
John Kurtz ヶ月 前
@Andon Herrera WGC event, small field, no cut
Thomas Ladder
Thomas Ladder ヶ月 前
How about some highlights?
Thomas Ladder
Thomas Ladder ヶ月 前
@European Tour hahahahaha. I love the reply.
European Tour
European Tour ヶ月 前
Refresh big Tea
LazyRebel
LazyRebel ヶ月 前
That's bound to happen, his practice putts are like right against the ball.
David Wilson
David Wilson ヶ月 前
Rules can be changed and if that particular rule proves to be problematic it can be changed again. If Matt Wolff somehow got an unfair advantage due to the rule change it did not show up in his score.
XjawFann23
XjawFann23 ヶ月 前
Stupid rule even with marking and picking up. There should not even be a rule to pick up the ball until its in the hole. defeats the entire purpose of golf
Jbiz _
Jbiz _ ヶ月 前
I don’t take practice strokes 😅
mitchell hayes
mitchell hayes ヶ月 前
@KiDD ViDD counts in my personal record book
KiDD ViDD
KiDD ViDD ヶ月 前
@mitchell hayes what do you do with that score? Do you use usga ghin? Otherwise it all doesn't count.
mitchell hayes
mitchell hayes ヶ月 前
@KiDD ViDD if i'm keeping score it's not a practice round.
Jbiz _
Jbiz _ ヶ月 前
@KiDD ViDD exactly. I started visualizing putts a few years back and step up and go. Brought my putting avg way down per round
KiDD ViDD
KiDD ViDD ヶ月 前
@mitchell hayes so you only play in tournaments? Every unsanctioned round of golf is a practice round.
European Tour
European Tour ヶ月 前
We've all done it.
Sea Oh
Sea Oh ヶ月 前
Nope.
Bat Man
Bat Man ヶ月 前
@Rob Moore He did not intend to hit it, so it is just put back in the same place, no penalty. Same as if you are on the tee and practicing a few swings and knock the ball off the tee, you just put it back and go again, no penalty.
Bat Man
Bat Man ヶ月 前
@Jeff vee I have, seen a few people do it as they practice their stroke to close to the ball.
Ken Bard
Ken Bard ヶ月 前
I've never done it...only stupid people practice that close to their ball.
Jeff vee
Jeff vee ヶ月 前
No I’ve never even seen someone do that .....
Patchcarl 853
Patchcarl 853 ヶ月 前
Poor guy
Jacob Bilby
Jacob Bilby ヶ月 前
I did this in a tournament and didn’t move it back and played out the hole and got a 2 stroke penalty for it. Even though I got a bogey instead of par.
huddy bozak
huddy bozak ヶ月 前
That's crazy. If ur getting a penalty for accidentally hitting the ball, then you should at least be able to play it.
Teddy W Gardner
Teddy W Gardner ヶ月 前
lol then Rory is like: To watch anither European Tour Video... 🤣🤣
xXtheswagger8Xx
xXtheswagger8Xx ヶ月 前
Tr video
Rocket Gaming
Rocket Gaming ヶ月 前
Ter video
Rob Moore
Rob Moore ヶ月 前
That's such a stupid rule change... his blunder should count as a shot
Platinum Pineapple
Platinum Pineapple ヶ月 前
Rob Moore the rules changed its no longer a stroke penalty they said
Rob Moore
Rob Moore ヶ月 前
If he caused the ball in play to move without marking it, then it should definitely count. Why should this putt be an exception to the rule? Why does he look so disappointed then if it doesn't matter?
Platinum Pineapple
Platinum Pineapple ヶ月 前
Landon P yea they changed the rules so theres no penalty, just a couple years ago it would have been a stroke, yes i know
Landon P
Landon P ヶ月 前
You don’t know the definition of a stroke then
Landon P
Landon P ヶ月 前
@The Donald: Force Ghost yea golfers don’t mean to hit bad shots but those count...the rule is in place bc there wasn’t an attempt at a stroke and he gains no advantage by accidentally hitting his ball
Kai
Kai ヶ月 前
Couldn't be me
Kristián Klukavý
Kristián Klukavý ヶ月 前
1st⛳️👌👍😂🥳🥳
Unluckiest Golf Shots of the Year | Best of 2020
10:08
【現役引退から1年】YouTuber那須大亮の1日に密着!
12:44